History of OLA School

Our parish was established in 1950 by Fr. Thomas Bannon and the vibrant Catholic Carmichael community. Fr. Bannon had a vision to construct a parish school because he believed that a Catholic education should be available for all young people of the parish as it would form them deeper in their faith and instill in them a better value system. By 1954 construction of the school began, and the Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary (IBVM) order of nuns consented to the employment of two nuns to work at the school. On September 7, 1955, the school was opened. OLA School has been flourishing since. Our school continues to enjoy an enthusiastic, supportive community, and it prepares students to become outstanding Catholics who excel in faith, academics, and service. Our principal, Mr. Robert Love, was appointed in July of 2006 and leads our school with his strong Catholic faith and education background. OLA school continues to employ a very dedicated and enthusiastic staff of teachers with many years of service in the teaching profession and in this school community.

School Community Calendar